Model and toolsDeployed
Research brief

AI Agent Builder: 12 Platforms Compared on Price, Use Case and MCP Support (2026)

The short version
  • Agent builders suit different jobs: workflow tools such as n8n, Zapier and Gumloop automate back-office work; Botpress, Voiceflow and Convocore build agents that talk to customers; Copilot Studio and Relevance AI aim at enterprises 3,5,7,8,10,11,12.
  • Entry paid plans we could read ran from about $20 a month (MindStudio) to $200 a month for a Copilot Studio pack, and several vendors, Relevance AI and Voiceflow among them, publish no price 6,11,12,13.
  • Large organizations are already deploying agents: 83% of 1,050 IT leaders said most or all teams have adopted them, with an average of 12 agents per organization 1.
  • Building from scratch is expensive: one agency's estimates run from $15,000 for a single-workflow agent to $50,000 to $150,000 for a voice agent, against platform plans of tens to hundreds of dollars a month 17,18.
  • The two top lists we could read cover workflow and developer tools; neither compares phone, WhatsApp or reselling to clients 3,4.

An AI agent builder is software for creating an AI agent without writing the whole thing yourself. The tools split into three kinds: code frameworks, workflow automation tools and customer-facing agent platforms. This page compares 12 builders on what they cost, what they are for and whether they support MCP, using each vendor's own pricing page on 30 October 2026, and explains what building your own agent costs.

· 24 sources · Published by Convocore, which sells white label AI agents. See method and limits.

83%
of 1,050 IT leaders say most or all teams have adopted AI agents (Salesforce, 2026)1
12
average AI agents per organization in that survey1
$20
MindStudio's entry paid plan per month, the lowest dollar price in the table6
$150
Botpress Plus per month, 250 conversations included10
10,000+
active public MCP servers, December 2025 (Anthropic)2
$15k to $150k
one agency's estimate to build an agent from scratch17

The three kinds of AI agent builder

Lists of the best AI agent builder tend to mix very different tools. It helps to sort them first by what the agent is for.

Code frameworks such as LangChain, AutoGen and CrewAI give developers building blocks; Descope's list of seven covers these 4. Workflow automation tools such as n8n, Zapier, Gumloop and Lindy add AI agents to automations across your apps 3,5,7,8,9. Customer-facing agent platforms such as Botpress, Voiceflow and Convocore build agents that talk to your customers on chat, messaging or phone 10,13,18.

Which kind of builder fits which job (our judgement from the vendors' pages)3,4,10,18
RuleCode frameworkWorkflow toolCustomer-facing platform
Works without developersCode requiredVisual buildersNo code
Back-office automation across appsBuild it yourselfCore strengthVia webhooks
Talks to customers on chat, WhatsApp, phoneBuild it yourselfLimitedCore strength
Resell to clients under your brandNot offeredNot offeredSome, such as Convocore
StrongDependsWeak

A summary of how each category is sold, not a test.

AI agent builders compared: price, use and MCP

We read each vendor's pricing page on 30 October 2026. Units differ (executions, activities, credits, conversations), so the entry price alone does not say which is cheaper for your job. Where a vendor publishes no price we say so.

Entry paid plan, USD a month (what each plan includes differs)6,7,8,9,10,11,18
MindStudio$20
Convocore Starter (web chat)$29
Zapier Agents (annual)$33
Gumloop Pro$37
Lindy Team$50
Convocore Pro (all chat channels)$59
Botpress Plus (annual)$150
Copilot Studio pack$200

n8n is priced in euros and left out. Different vendors count different units, so use this as a guide to entry cost only.

12 AI agent builders, read on each vendor's own pages on 30 October 20265,6,7,8,9,10,11,12,13,14,15,18,19,20,21,22,23,24
BuilderBest forEntry paid priceFree plan or trialWhat the price includesMCP
n8nWorkflow automation with AI agent nodesEUR 20 a month, billed annuallyNo free cloud plan; trial with 1,000 executions; self-hosting free2.5K executions a month, unlimited users and workflowsMCP client node
MindStudioGeneral agents and workflows$20 a month ($16 yearly), plus usageFree: 1 agent, 1,000 runsUnlimited agents and runs, plus usageExposes agents as MCP tools
Zapier AgentsAgents across Zapier's appsAbout $33.33 a month billed annuallyFree: 400 activities1,500 activities a monthZapier MCP
GumloopWorkflow and agent automation$37 a month for 20,000 credits14 day Pro trial, card required1 credit costs $0.005; no rollover on ProMCP server
LindyBusiness assistants$49.99 a month for 5,000 creditsFree: $50 of credits for 7 daysTop-ups $10 per 1,000 creditsListed on pricing page
BotpressCustomer support chat agents$150 a month, billed annuallyFree: 100 conversations, 3 agents250 conversations, $25 AI spend, unlimited agentsNot confirmed
VoiceflowVoice and chat agents for agencies and businessesNot publishedFree trial, no cardUsage-based billing for agenciesNot confirmed
Microsoft Copilot StudioEnterprise agents in the Microsoft stack$200 a month per pack of 25,000 creditsNo Copilot Studio trial listedNeeds an Azure subscription for pay as you goYes
Relevance AIEnterprise AI workforceNot published; talk to salesNot statedUnlimited agents, calling and meeting agentsMCP client
StackAIEnterprise workflow agentsNot publishedFree: 500 runs, 1 seatEnterprise customNot checked
OpenAI Agent BuilderDeveloper-built agentsNo seat price found; billed as API tokensNot statedToken prices applyYes in the Agents API
ConvocoreCustomer-facing agents on chat, messaging and phone; resell to clientsStarter $29, Pro $59, Business $99 a monthFree signupPro: all chat channels; Business: voice ($0.02 a minute plus providers) and MCP; White Label $199Remote MCP server, Business plan
  • Zapier's price is marked approximate on its page; n8n and Botpress show annual billing prices only.
  • We could not obtain Google Vertex AI Agent Builder pricing or Flowise cloud pricing, so they are not in the table.

What the current top lists leave out

Zapier's list covers 14 builders across five criteria: agentic behavior, integration depth, accessibility, enterprise readiness and path to production. It is written by Zapier, which recommends itself, and it does not cover WhatsApp or reselling and mentions phone only in a line on Voiceflow 3. Descope's list covers seven developer frameworks and is over a year old 4. Neither compares agents that answer customers by phone or messaging, or that an agency can resell.

If your agent will talk to customers, three things matter that those lists skip: the channels it can answer (web, WhatsApp, Instagram, Messenger, SMS, phone), human handoff when it is stuck, and whether you can white label it for clients.

How to create your own AI agent

The steps are the same whichever builder you pick. The hard part is the testing in step four, not the building.

Five steps to a working AI agent (our recommended process)
01
1
Pick one job and a way to measure it
Leads captured, bookings made, tickets deflected
02
2
Choose the kind of builder
Code, workflow or customer-facing platform
03
3
Give it knowledge and tools
Your website, documents, calendar, CRM
04
4
Test it with real conversations
Edge cases, refusals, handoff
05
5
Launch on one channel and watch it
Review transcripts weekly

How much does it cost to build your own AI agent?

There are two costs: building it and running it. RaftLabs, an AI development agency, published estimates in December 2025: $15,000 to $40,000 and 4 to 8 weeks for a single-workflow agent, $40,000 to $85,000 for a customer support agent, $50,000 to $150,000 for a voice agent and $80,000 to $200,000 over 12 to 20 weeks for a production agent, with run costs of $1,500 to $8,000 a month 17. These are an agency's estimates with a commercial interest and no stated method; treat them as a rough guide.

Running cost is mostly model tokens. Anthropic lists Claude Sonnet 5.5 at $2 per million input tokens and $10 per million output tokens, and OpenAI lists gpt-6.1-terra at $1 and $5 and gpt-5.6-terra at $2 and $12 15,16. By our arithmetic, a chat reply that reads 3,000 input tokens (your prompt and history) and writes 300 tokens costs about $0.009 on Sonnet 5.5, or about $9 per 1,000 replies, before any platform fee.

Model token prices per million tokens, read 30 October 202615,16
ModelInputOutputNotes
Claude Sonnet 5.5 (Anthropic)$2$10Cache hits $0.10
Claude Haiku 5.5 (Anthropic)$0.10$0.50Prompts up to 100K tokens
gpt-6.1-terra (OpenAI)$1.00$5.00Cached input $0.05
gpt-5.6-terra (OpenAI)$2.00$12.00Cached input $0.20

Agents are mainstream, and MCP connects them

In a survey of 1,050 IT leaders at organizations with 1,000 or more employees, run in October and November 2025 and published by Salesforce's MuleSoft in February 2026, 83% said most or all teams have adopted AI agents, with an average of 12 agents per organization and a projected 67% rise in two years 1. It is a vendor survey of large enterprises, so small businesses may differ.

Many builders now support the Model Context Protocol, which lets an AI client such as Claude or ChatGPT use their tools. Anthropic reported more than 10,000 active public MCP servers in December 2025 2. The MCP column above shows what each vendor's own docs say; see our guide to Claude MCP for how to connect a server.

Where Convocore fits

Convocore is a no-code builder for customer-facing agents. One agent can answer web chat, WhatsApp, Instagram, Messenger, SMS and phone calls; Starter is $29 a month for web chat, Pro is $59 for every chat channel, and Business is $99 with voice ($0.02 a minute plus providers at cost) and a remote MCP server so Claude or ChatGPT can build and test agents for you. Agencies resell it on the White Label plan at $199 a month. If you mainly need back-office automation across your apps, a workflow tool such as n8n, Zapier or Gumloop is the better fit.

Build your first agent freeClaude MCP guide

What the evidence does not show

  • We could not read Google Vertex AI Agent Builder or Flowise cloud pricing, and Relevance AI, Voiceflow and StackAI publish none.
  • Gartner's and McKinsey's agent adoption figures appeared only in search snippets, so we do not quote them.
  • We found no primary survey or dataset on what building an AI agent costs; the build estimates are one agency's.
  • MCP support for Botpress, Voiceflow and StackAI was not confirmed from their own docs.
  • We did not test any builder's agents.

Choosing an AI agent builder

Start with the job. For back-office automation across your apps, try n8n, Zapier or Gumloop. For an agent that answers customers on chat, WhatsApp or the phone, shortlist Botpress, Voiceflow and Convocore and test each with real conversations. If you are an agency, check which ones let you resell under your own brand.

White label AI platform →Pricing →

Method and limits

  • Prices and features come from each vendor's own pages, opened on 30 October 2026, and may have changed since.
  • Convocore's prices come from the pricing catalog. Convocore sells an AI agent builder, so it has a commercial interest. If you find an error, write to support@convocore.ai.

Sources

  1. 2026 Connectivity ReportCommissioned research
    Salesforce (MuleSoft). 5 February 2026.
    1,050 IT leaders at organizations with 1,000+ employees; vendor survey.
  2. Anthropic. 9 December 2025.
    Self-reported by the protocol's maintainers.
  3. Zapier. Updated May 2026.
    Written by a competitor in the category.
  4. Descope. 27 June 2025.
  5. PricingPrimary source
    n8n. Read 30 October 2026.
  6. PricingPrimary source
    MindStudio. Read 30 October 2026.
  7. PricingPrimary source
    Zapier. Read 30 October 2026.
  8. CreditsPrimary source
    Gumloop docs. Read 30 October 2026.
  9. PricingPrimary source
    Lindy. Read 30 October 2026.
  10. PricingPrimary source
    Botpress. Read 30 October 2026.
  11. Microsoft. Read 30 October 2026.
  12. PricingPrimary source
    Relevance AI. Read 30 October 2026.
  13. PricingPrimary source
    Voiceflow. Read 30 October 2026.
  14. PricingPrimary source
    StackAI. Read 30 October 2026.
  15. API pricingPrimary source
    OpenAI. Read 30 October 2026.
  16. PricingPrimary source
    Anthropic. Read 30 October 2026.
  17. RaftLabs. 24 December 2025.
    Agency estimates with a commercial interest and no stated method.
  18. Convocore pricingPrimary source
    Convocore. Read 30 October 2026.
  19. MCP Client nodePrimary source
    n8n docs. Read 30 October 2026.
  20. Connect Zapier MCPPrimary source
    Zapier docs. Read 30 October 2026.
  21. MCP server overviewPrimary source
    Gumloop docs. Read 30 October 2026.
  22. MCP clientPrimary source
    Relevance AI docs. Read 30 October 2026.
  23. Microsoft Learn. Updated 17 October 2026.
  24. AI agents for MCPPrimary source
    MindStudio University. Read 30 October 2026.

Questions

What is an AI agent builder?

Software for creating an AI agent without coding all of it yourself. Some are code frameworks for developers, some are workflow automation tools such as n8n and Zapier, and some are platforms for customer-facing agents such as Botpress, Voiceflow and Convocore.

What is the best AI agent builder?

It depends on the job. For back-office automation across your apps, n8n, Zapier or Gumloop. For agents that answer customers on chat, WhatsApp or phone, Botpress, Voiceflow or Convocore. For Microsoft shops, Copilot Studio.

How can I create my own AI agent?

Pick one job and a way to measure it, choose a builder, give the agent your knowledge and tools, test it with real conversations, then launch on one channel and review transcripts weekly.

How much does it cost to build my own AI agent?

An AI development agency estimated $15,000 to $40,000 for a single-workflow agent and $50,000 to $150,000 for a voice agent in December 2025. Platform plans we checked on 30 October 2026 ran from about $20 a month (MindStudio) to $200 a month (a Copilot Studio pack), plus model usage.

Is there a free AI agent builder?

Several offer free plans or trials: MindStudio (1 agent, 1,000 runs), Zapier Agents (400 activities), Botpress (100 conversations, 3 agents), Lindy ($50 of credits for 7 days) and StackAI (500 runs). n8n can be self-hosted for free.

Do AI agent builders support MCP?

Many do. n8n has an MCP client node, Zapier has Zapier MCP, Gumloop has an MCP server, Relevance AI has an MCP client, Copilot Studio supports MCP tools, and Convocore has a remote MCP server so Claude or ChatGPT can build agents for you.

Related

Claude MCP: how to connect a server →Claude MCP as your AI agent builder →How to build an AI agent →AI chatbot builders compared →Best white label AI platforms →